St. Anne's Church
The island's only Anglican church is St Anne's situated on a hill between Victoria
Street and La Vallee.
Built in 1850 to the design of the famous English architect Sir George Scott, it is
one of the finest Victorian buildings in the Channel Islands. The cost of the building was financed by Reverend
Canon John Le Mesurier, son of the last Hereditary Governor of Alderney. To find out more, click here
The Alderney Lighthouse (Mannez)
This 32 metre high lighthouse on the east coast is a spectacular and famous land
mark at Quesnard point.
Its beam of four flashes every 15 seconds can be seen 23 sea miles away but is
no longer manned. It became fully automated in 1997 and is now operated by the Trinity House Operational Control
Centre at Harwich in Essex.
Conducted tours of the lighthouse are available in the summer on Friday, Saturday
and Sundays at 2.30pm and 3.30, or by appointment for groups of eight or more.
Tel: +44 (0)1481 823077
or the Visitor Information Centre on +44 (0)1481 823737 01481 824309
Offshore Angling provides charter for all types of angling and
charter using 'Alderney Felix', a 35foot Offshore Pro Charter vessel based in Alderney harbour. She has been
custom built with safety, comfort , and angling high on the agenda, and is licensed to operate up to sixty miles
offshore (CAT 2). She carries state of the art electronics. She is fully insured and skippered by a fully licensed
skipper/owner who has been fishing around Alderney for over thirty five years.
Tel: 01481 823934. Fax: 01481 823934
Situated in Victoria Street, the Alderney Cinema shows the latest film releases and
is supported by the Alderney Cinema Club. The reel has to be changed at half time but the audience retires to the
One can find details of the films currently showing on posters throughout the
The Alderney Library
Located inside the Island Hall and open every weekday, this excellent and extensive
library, run by dedicated volunteers, provides a service for islanders and visitors. You will be asked to pay
a deposit which is refunded on return of all borrowed books.
See the potters at work and then browse through the shop where you will find a wide
range of hand made pottery plus various other souvenirs and toys. One is You are quite welcome to browse.
Open weekdays 9.00am to 5.00pm and 9.00am to 1.00pm on Saturday.
Orient Express - Photo courtesy of Simon
Alderney has the only railway in the Channel Islands, thanks to the support and
enthusiasm of volunteers .
The "Orient Express" opened by Queen Victoria and Price Albert celebrated its 150th
birthday in 1997 and attracts enthusiasts from all over the World. It runs from the harbour up to the
north-east coast and back again. The railway line was inaugurated by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. The diesel
engine pulls former London Underground carriages built in 1938 along a scenic coastal route before cutting across
country towards Mannez Quarry and the nearby Mannez Lighthouse. In 2000, 2,700 passengers were carried.
Two newer London Underground aluminium carriages built in 1959 have been bought and
in 2001 replaced the older ones.
This train and the little Wickhams can also be chartered. For bookings call : +44
For the history of Alderney, click here
The Alderney Society Museum
The museum was opened in 1966 and is run by volunteers. It gives a unique
insight into Alderney's fascinating history from Neolithic times to the modern technological age of the 21st
Among the items worth seeing are artefacts from the shipwrecks around the island
including a cannon and muskets from an Elizabethan warship discovered less than a mile off the island's north-east
Click here for more details to be found on the
island's official government site, or the Alderney Tourism site